SAP TechEd && d-code 2014 Las Vegas – Pre Conference Jet Lag Day

Well I made it to Las Vegas…    My travel from the UK was pretty uneventful, taxi, plane, taxi.  My travel day was a long one actually if felt like 3 days all rolled up into one.  In the morning I was out in the Ashdown Forest with the family all morning, then the flight, and then supper in Vegas.  I went from wearing tweeds to a t-shirt in 1 day…..  phewwww

2014-10-18 09.57.56

2014-10-19 06.50.49

Sunday was an acclimatisation day, not for altitude but for the sensory explosion that is Las Vegas (and to try and beat the jetlag).  Sunday started early with a run along the “strip”, it’s  amazing what you see at 06:30 in Vegas.  Anything from young couples embracing, some doing the walk of shame, people staggering the worse for drink and I was even “High Fived” by a “lady of the night” (must have been a slow night). This run was the culmination of 8 weeks effort as I haven’t really exercised to any regularity for probably 20 years.

At SAP TechEd for the last few years there has been a 5k fun run / walk organised for mid week starting at 06:30.  When I registered for the conference it appears as a extra thing you can do so I signed up as an incentive to start exercising.  Using the Couch to 5K programme I started from not being able to run for more than 30 seconds to running 5k and I even entered a 10K and finished (way down the field, but finishing was the aim).

The actual SAP TechEd fun run is on Wednesday so wait for the update to see how I get on, but I’m chuffed with acheiving my goal of a 5K run along the strip in Vegas

Untitled

Throughout the day familiar faces from SAP SCN and Twitter have started arriving at the venue so I’m really hoping to bump into some this evening. Maybe some selfies to follow….

My tech bag is all packed and hoodie ready as I’m told the conference centre can be cool. Is you see me please stop me and say Hi !!

2014-10-19 18.24.41-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

